Connect with us


Toronto’s Artist-to-Artist SWAVY Is a ‘Different Breed’ On Incendiary Debut Mixtape



Toronto hip-hop R&B enigma Swavy unleashes his much-anticipated debut mixtape, Different Breed, via Reps Up Records/Columbia Records. Listen to Different Breed HERE.

The project arrives alongside a captivating new mini-documentary detailing his journey and rise so far. Watch it HERE. Across thirteen dynamic tracks, Swavy consistently affirms himself as a Different Breed. He sets the tone with the mesmerizing “This Lyfe (Intro).” He delivers rhymes with aggression and introspection in equal measure as he reflects on his come-up. It culminates on the confession, “I know this life…I wouldn’t change for nothing.” The head-nodding “Backstreets” layers ethereal synths over 808s as his energetic cadence takes hold. It builds towards the
chantable chorus, “I be running out the backstreets, pull out the coupe like oh!” Then, there’s “Take Advice.”

He opens up about a toxic relationship through woozy and emotionally charged melodies. Coming full circle, the mixtape concludes with “Outro.” Gripping strings and heavenly piano uplift a heartfelt plea, “My blessings is coming, take me from the moment,” as he urges, “Keep going.” In order to bring this vision to life, he collaborated with top-flight producers such as LIOHN [Lady Gage, Elton John, Drake] and Klahr [Swedish House Mafia, Bree Runway, Drake] as well as TheBoyKam [Yung Bleu, Nicki Minaj, G-Eazy] and Adrian Allahverdi [Gunna, Roddy Ricch, Ali Gatie].
Check out the full tracklisting below.

He paved the way for Different Breed with “Fallback Queen” [feat. Vory]. Since its arrival, it has begun to pick up traction at DSPs. In addition to plugs from HipHopSince1987, it claimed real estate on Spotify playlists such as “B.A.E.” and “Northern Bars.”

Right now, Swavy is crisscrossing the continent, traveling with Drake and 21 Savage on the It’s All A Blur Tour. He continues to buzz across the culture though. He has garnered more than 7 million worldwide streams and views since the release of his debut single, “Old Ways.” He has also received co-signs from Drake, Meek Mill, G Herbo, and Chris Brown, among others. Meanwhile, he recently sat down with Raydar Magazine for an exclusive interview.

Check it out HERE.

Not to mention, Complex Canada touted him among “20 Canadian Artists to Watch in 2023,” and predicted, “it just seems like the sky’s the limit for the self-described ‘lone wolf’.” Emerging from Toronto’s fertile underground scene, Swavy set himself apart with his soul-searching, relatable, melodic tempo. Beloved in his city and co-signed by the likes of Drake, Meek Mill, and Popcaan, just to name a few, Swavy is ready to achieve his lofty ambitions. Stay tuned for much more from Swavy coming soon including the official video for “Fallback Queen”. It’s the year of the “lone wolf”…

Different Breed Full Tracklisting:

  1. This Lyfe (Intro)
  2. Backstreets
  3. Rush Hour
  4. Old Ways
  5. Basic Bitches
  6. Take Advice
  7. Out Of Line
  8. Burn
  9. Taking Flight
  10. Fallback Queen” (Feat. Vory)
  11. Side Eye
  12. Way More Than
  13. Outro
Continue Reading