Connect with us

New Music

Trapland Pat Releases Mixtape ‘Professor Trap’




Source: Audible Treats, photo credit: @ShotByJolo

The Deerfield Beach native Trapland Pat shares Professor Trap, his new mixtape. Featuring varied and tuneful production from his running mate PepperJack Zoe, along with other Florida sound architects like 2Side and Dom2groovyProfessor Trap deepens Pat’s tropical mythology, as the artist embraces his region’s signature sound and makes them his own.

Spanning 15 tracks, Professor Trap runs the gamut from sinister, on tracks like the creeping Z Land” and the recent single “Spoof” ft. Tee Grizzley, to celebratory, on the uptempo rider’s anthem “Hood Star” and the soaring “Top Floor.” At times, the new tape finds Pat embracing his funkier side, on tracks like the speaker-knocking Broward County anthem “Dixie Highway” and the DJChose & Hardbody B-Eazy-produced “Where’s Billie Jean,” a soulful collaboration with Pat’s Bang Biz boss. The 24-year-old rapper asserts himself as a major player in his home state’s scene, recruiting rising and veteran Florida stars to spar: Luh Tyler‘s laid back rasp meshes perfectly with Pat’s easygoing croon on “Backstreet,” while The Boss himself, Rick Ross, shows up to bless Pat’s “Big Business (Remix).” Featuring additional appearances from Big YavoGTLoe ShimmyLil Toe, and C StunnaProfessor Trap is available everywhere via Bang Biz/Alamo Records.

Professor Trap is the anticipated follow-up to Trapnificent, Pat’s acclaimed 2022 mixtape. Pat’s first release for Bang Biz and Alamo RecordsTrapnificent earned praise from Pitchfork, who called the project a “zippy distillation of his regional roots” and said that Pat’s music is “extremely regionally and culturally specific, like so much exciting and promising new rap music.” Trapnificent kept up the momentum from 2021’s Thru The Door, home to “Big Business,” which generated over 10 million streams and earned a spot on Passion Of The Weiss’s list of Best Rap Songs of 2021.

Ready to build on his impressive 2022 and bring his South Florida street raps to a larger audience, Trapland Pat has the goods to be Broward County’s next big star. Professor Trap completes his evolution from student to master. Stay tuned for much more.

Professor Trap tracklist:

  1. Overview (feat. C Stunna)
  2. Spoof (feat. Tee Grizzley)
  3. Power @ Da Wells (feat. Big Yavo)
  4. Real Spill (feat. GT)
  5. 5 Hour Layover (feat. Loe Shimmy)
  6. Groovy
  7. Big Business (feat. Rick Ross)
  8. Backstreet (feat. Luh Tyler)
  9. Top Floor
  10. Dixie Highway
  11. Hood Star (feat. Lil Toe)
  12. Bond No. 9
  13. Inside Looking Out 
  14. Z Land
  15. Where Is (Billie Jean) (feat. Fredo Bang)