Best New Music Out Now

Written by

It’s Friday which means it’s the biggest day for Music drops of the week. A lot has gone down this week in the music world. There was controversy over Pop Smokes album artwork to the point where over 20’000 signed a petition for it to be changed, August Alsina exposed his past relationship with Jada Smith, and internet clown/co-host of Everyday Struggle DJ Akademiks was suspended from Complex and Twitch for comments he made toward Chrissy Teigan.

Kanye West, the king of announcing projects and then delaying them forever, surprised fans with two new songs this week. One is a collaboration with Travis Scott called Wash Us In The Blood, produced by Florida rapper and producer Ronny J. The other is a Skrillex producer track for Ty Dolla $ign called Ego Death which features Kanye and FKA Twigs. Kanye also announced that he will be dropping a new album called “God’s Country”. Despite Kanye’s praise for christianity and God in his past album, these two new songs remind me of the old Kanye we all know and love. Looking forward to whatever he has in store.

What I’ve really been looking forward to is the new Westside Gunn project, Fly God Is An Awesome God 2, the 2nd part of his 2019 album. Coming back from dropping possibly the best rap album earlier this year, Pray for Paris, the Griselda Rapper is back for more. The album includes features from frequent collaborators Benny the Butcher, Keisha Plum, Boldy James, and Daringer. This year, not to mention he was also featured on RMRs song Welfare, did Fire In The Booth with Charlie Sloth, and he beat the coronavirus! Westside has defiantly had an eventful year.

Flood my wrist, A song that was leaked a year ago, finally got its official release this week. Flood my wrist features high bridge artists A Boogie and Don Q, as well as Philadelphia superstar Lil Uzi Vert. On their third collaboration of this year, both A Boogie and Uzi have stayed on top of the charts with their albums Artist 2.0 and Eternal Atake. They both featured on eachothers album as well, with songs Reply and Luv Is Art. These two don’t miss.

Gucci the king of Atlanta is dropping yet another album So Icy Summer. The 1017 Artist has not slowed down since he got out of jail and has done nothing but drop music and glow up. It’s been a while since Gucci’s last project, East Atlanta Santa 3 and his collab project with OLA RUNT, Beggin For A Body. The project is 24 songs long and has features from artists like 21 Savage, Future, Young Thug, Young Nudy and more. Gucci Mane has continued to show that he’s one of the hardest working rappers in the industry.

Even though this song technically dropped last week, I haven’t stopped bumping it this week. Louisville Rapper Jack Harlow dropped the remix to his platinum hit song What’s Poppin featuring DaBaby, Tory Lanez, and Lil Wayne. Produced by JetsonMade, Jack dropped what’s Poppin earlier this year along with a video directed by Chicago creative Cole Bennett. 

Of course the biggest drop of the week that everyone has been looking forward to is the release of Pop Smoke’s album, Shoot For The Stars Aim For The Moon. Earlier this week Pop Smoke’s team and Virgil Abloh took a lot of criticism for lack of effort put in to the album artwork. On Twitter fans created a petition to get it remade that received over 20 thousand signatures. The 19 song album has features from Future, Swae Lee, DaBaby, Quavo, 50 Cent, Roddy Ricch, and more. Pop Smokes untimely death rocked the music industry to its core but his legacy will continue to live on through his music.